Hey! Long time, no see!

Hey gang!!  It’s been a while but it’s true what they say “no news is good news”!  Here’s some rambling and information for you…

It’s been just over 4 months since I was diagnosed and I can honestly say time has flown by. It really does just seem like yesterday when I got the call telling me what I already felt in my heart. Though much has changed, much has also stayed the same. I still get up every day and work, they boys still come over as scheduled, Jeff still travels (albeit less than before) I still make dinners and clean the house and fold laundry. In the grand scheme of things…it’s all pretty much the same.

What has changed the most for me is the way I approach every day. I always considered myself a pretty positive person. Sure I had bad days and bad attitudes just like everyone else, but for the most part I always remembered “things could be worse” and that mantra kept me moving forward. I still use that mantra today. Things really could be worse. I’m incredibly fortunate and blessed to have handled chemo as well as I have. Short of a bad week when I caught a nasty virus, I’ve felt normal. Even my level of fatigue is not what I imagine (feared?) it would be.

The change in my attitude has been one of gratefulness. I spend more time simply taking time. I pay more attention to things. I observe vibrant fall colors a little longer. I’m quieter. I appreciate the sun more. I contemplate. I watch what I eat. I think…a lot…

I have really great days and I have really lousy ones too. The lousy ones aren’t often, but they do come and I deal with them as best I know how. I’m incredibly blessed to have an amazing husband by my side through it all. He knows exactly when I need a break and exactly when I need to get my ass of the couch…even though sometimes I don’t want to hear what he has to say, he’s normally right. (Someone tell him I wrote that because he isn’t likely to read something this long…HaHaHa!!)

This Thursday marks week 7 of Taxol and 11 chemo treatments overall. I’ll finish with chemo the week of Thanksgiving – a holiday has never seemed so far away. Like I said, I’m still tolerating chemo very well. I’ve had some muscle pain on day 2 after chemo but nothing severe. I get occasional sharp bone pain but again, nothing that is long lasting or requiring any sort of medication. Let’s hope it’s smooth sailing right into Thanksgiving.

Team HagyThe Making Strides Walk with Team Hagy was a GIANT success a few weeks back. THANK YOU to everyone who attended and donated to the event. I just looked at the website today and Team Hagy is 2nd in fundraising by $18!!! I did receive an email that donations are accepted through December 31 but I’m unsure if any donations now directly affect our team…I’m also not sure if the donations from the day of the walk have been entered.

Either way – we raised an amazing amount to support for the ACS…$3,649.00!!!!

Walk Day

Until next time ~ Unity is strength… when there is teamwork and collaboration, wonderful things can be achieved. Mattie Stepanek

 

2 thoughts on “Hey! Long time, no see!

  1. Hi Summer-in-Law. As usual you are an inspiration to all of us who surround you. Keep on going a little further you are getting close to the finish line. Love and prayers to you

  2. Sounds as though you have nearly reached the end of your treatment. Keep your strength, be proud of all you achieve… And listen to your husband!
    I was diagnosed 17/03/03 and, despite very poor odds survived my crucial 10 years… and am still here, achieving so much in my life! You may find my blog encouraging? Perhaps check me out when you have a moment? If so, may be best to read my “Raison d’être” before my first post and it will explain all! If not, no worries! Take care, Ruth.

So, what do you think?

