Cutting your cancer risk

I rarely watch TV during the day.  For one, I work from home and if the TV is on…I’m tempted to watch it.  For two, there’s crap on TV.

However, I’m not feeling well today so I’m here on the couch so I thought I’d watch a little Dr. Oz.  Low and behold the first segment of his show was about cutting cancer risk.  Hello!!!  I immediately opened a word document and started taking notes so I could share some information here for you.  Simple changes can make a HUGE difference…

Stomach Cancer

Do you…

  • Eat at a restaurant 2 more times week
  • Eat canned foods 3 more times week
  • Eat processed or packaged foods 3 more times week

Yes?  3 times the risk of developing stomach cancer – why?

  • Increase in salt intake which changes the lining of your stomach and makes your stomach more susceptible to infection

What can you do?

  • RINSE canned foods (lowers salt content by 40%)
  • Dilute broth with water (lowers sodium)
  • Go out to eat only once a week
  • Cut processed foods – such as luncheon meat and frozen meals
  • Use salt alternatives – such as garlic powder or other non-salt seasonings

 

Colon Cancer

Do you…

  • Eat dairy most days a week
  • Feel you get enough vitamin D and calcium

NO?  Then you have an increased risk of colon cancer

What can you do?

  • Get more vitamin D – 10 min of sunlight a day, take a supplement, eat more greens
  • Eat foods high in calcium
  • See a list of foods high in Vitamin D and Calcium here

 

Pancreatic Cancer

20,000 women die every year

Risk factors:

  • Have high blood sugar
  • Overweight

These lead to an increased risk due to high insulin/high blood sugar levels

Create a diet with a low-glycemic index that includes…

  • Avocado
  • Broccoli
  • Shrimp
  • Hummus
  • Sesame seeds
  • Peanuts
  • Sweet potatoes – bake, steam, or roast. Do not boil or fry – you will lose the nutrients

Learn more about Glycemic Index here

 

Update on my health –

Round 4I’ve now gone through 4 rounds of Taxol, so I’ve completed 8 rounds of chemo in total.  This puts me at the HALF WAY POINT in my entire chemo treatment plan – HOORAY!!!

After round 3 of Taxol, my doctor asked me to track my fevers for 5 days as he wanted to see if I was indeed fighting a virus, or if the fevers were a response to the chemo.  Low grade fevers are a side-effect of Taxol, but at times my fevers were up over 102 (not good).  After 5 full days of tracking I rarely had a time when my fever was below 100.  Needless to say, it was a really crappy 5 days.  On day 5, I was put on a Z-Pak of antibiotics that I finished yesterday.

I’m happy to report that while I did have some low grade fevers Saturday, for the most part, I’m feeling better.  I do think I was fighting a sinus infection as I’ve been dealing with massive sinus pressure and still coughing quite a bit.  I’ve been spending lots of time resting, eating lots of chicken soup (thanks Deb!), and drinking lots of water and Gatorade.  It’s pretty boring, but I am finally starting to feel a little more normal…and not like a character out of The Walking Dead.  Jeff has been super amazing taking care of me, I really don’t know what I’d do without him.

Moving forward I’ll continue with chemo once a week (generally on Thursday’s) finishing up the week of Thanksgiving.  After that, I’ll have about 3 weeks off, then surgery will be scheduled to remove what’s left of the lump (not much, not much at all) then radiation for about 6 weeks (and…breathe…)

Thanks to everyone who ordered “Team Hagy” t-shirts, I got the notice they shipped today!!  The Breast Cancer Walk is coming up October 18.  Those of you walking – please be sure to check the Event on Facebook for updates.  We’ll be meeting at 8:15am that morning in the Fieldhouse (downstairs) at St. Cloud State University.  There’s a short program at 8:30am and the walk begins at 9:00am.  The walk will go on rain, snow, sleet or shine…so please be prepared to attend no matter what!!

I’m also THRILLED to announce we have SMASHED our team fundraising goal!!!  THANK YOU to everyone who donated ~ a special thank you to my mom who worked her butt off and got over $600 in donations from her coworkers…amazing!!!

There is still time to register to walk and/or donate ~ you can do both here.

As always, THANK YOU for your support.  I still get emails, texts, calls, Facebook notes, tweets, IG posts almost every single day – I really cannot tell you how much that means to both Jeff and I.  We appreciate and love every single one of you.

Until next time ~ “There are moments when troubles enter our lives and we can do nothing to avoid them.  But they are there for a reason. Only when we have overcome them will we understand why they were there.”
― Paulo Coelho, The Fifth Mountain

3 thoughts on “Cutting your cancer risk

  1. As usual your upbeat attitude puts our mind to rest a bit. You are almost going downhill. Our thoughts are with you everyday. We love you strong girl. Hugs to our Summer-in-Law

So, what do you think?

