The Devil Went DOWN!

Round 4 That’s right kids, the “Red Devil” went down on Wednesday. Done. Gone. Finished. Adios. Goodbye. So long, farewell. I’m finished with the two-drug chemo combo!!! {Happy Dancing}

Round 4 went off without a hitch, per usual, and I’m still ‘hangin’ tough’. I spent yesterday on the couch feeling pretty tired – but that’s to be expected. Doc says my RBC and Hemoglobin are a tad low which is why I’ve been more tired these last two rounds. All I need to do is add in some more iron to my daily diet (hello, red meat) and it should take care of itself.

The next rounds of chemo will take place over 12 weeks starting September 11. I’ll go once a week for about 4 hours a time {blaaaahhh!!!} but the dosage is somewhat lower so I shouldn’t have to worry too much about my counts getting low.

This week I also attended a “Look Good, Feel Better” class at the American Cancer Society. It was a great two homakeUpur class in which we learned a lot about skin care…and walked away with an amazing bag of swag! I was also shocked out of my seat to see a former coworker walk in who was diagnosed in July. It’s a small, small world…

There’s some great events coming up in September & October ~ if you have time, I’d love to see you:

Saturday, September 13, 12:00pm ~ Summer’s Mani’s for Boobie’s Party hosted by Shantelle Kane at Caribou Coffee in Sartell. Shantelle will have her awesome Jamberrry Nails collections for all to see and she will be generously donating 20% of the proceeds that day to Team Hagy’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer team! Check out Shantelle’s Jamberry Nails page

Saturday, September 13, 8pm ~ The Fabulous Armadillo’s will be performing at Bernicks Arena here in Sartell to benefit Sartell Youth Hockey. I won’t be in attendance (but I’m on the committee) so PLEASE come out and support our hockey association! Admission is only $10 in advance ($15 at the door) More information here

Saturday, October 18, 9am ~ Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk at SCSU. If you’re walking that day, please meet at 8:15am so you can get your shirt. We’ll meet in Halenbeck Hall – downstairs in the Fieldhouse where there will be lots of fun and games going on before the walk kicks off.
TO REGISTER for the walk: http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR?fr_id=62680&pg=teamlist Click “JOIN”
TO DONATE to our team: http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR?fr_id=62680&pg=teamlist Click “DONATE”
TO SIGN UP FOR YOUR SHIRT: http://www.customink.com/signup/9dq5agy6  **DEADLINE TO SIGN UP IS September 22. Please get me your payment by that date as well – no money, no shirt!**  (If you want a shirt, but cannot attend the walk, please add $5 per shirt for shipping)

AS ALWAYS ~ Thanks to each of you who have shown your unwavering support to us in one way or another.  We’re continuously blessed to have you all in our lives…we appreciate you ALL!!!  THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

Until next time ~ You have power over your mind – not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.

-Marcus Aurelius
5 thoughts on “The Devil Went DOWN!

  1. Summer…I just read your article in the Central MN Style Magazine and it touched me. Your openness and honestly was refreshing. I don’t usually respond to these articles, but for some reason felt the need to respond to you. I am 59 years and healthy (as far as I know). I don’t want to ever take that for granted and your strength and encouragement was inspiring for me. I hope for all the best for you. You deserve it!! Everyone does!! God bless you as you move forward in good health and life!!!

So, what do you think?

