Coffee with Katy ~ Part 3

ImageToday is World Book Day!!  I can’t think of a better way to honor this day than to write a blog about BOOKS, especially favorite books from one of my favorite authors – Katy Regnery!  For those of you just joining us, I’ve known Katy for a little while now.  I met her on Twitter before I ever read any of her books and found her to be free-spirited, fun-loving, engaging and super duper sweet.  I was BLOWN AWAY by the first book of hers I read, Playing For Love at Deep Haven.  So much so, that I started THIS BLOG because of it!

Katy has been very supportive of this blog, and agreed to answer a whole bunch of questions that I had for her – some of which I’ve been featuring here.  Today, I thought it would be perfect to ask her…

What’s your favorite book/series of all time?
    My all-time favorite book is “Welcome to the Monkey House” by Kurt Vonnegut. Honestly, I think it’s the best collection of short stories ever written. Vonnegut was a master at concision, adept at multiple genres – “The Long Walk to Forever” is, in my opinion, one of the most romantic short stories ever penned, yet he still manages to induce cringe-worthy discomfort in the coming-of-age story “The Lie.” “Who Am I This Time” and “Miss Temptation” are two stories that take different aspects of community theater to extrapolate on the human condition. “Welcome to the Monkey House” is a masterpiece of dystopian science fiction. And each one – every single story, all of which I’ve read tens of times – is gripping and compelling and has that satisfying “ah-ha!” moment.  Novels are wonderful, but so are short stories and they have the benefit of being, well…short.

     As for my favorite series? That’s such a hard question…I loved the Fifty Shades series…I loved the Crossfire series. I get really into the Jessica Sorenson angsty NA series like Callie & Kayden and Ella & Micha. Honestly, the answer to this question changes from year to year as my tastes change.

I’m a lot like Katy – my answer to the question “What’s your favorite book of all time” changes season to season.  I’m the kind of reader that generally falls head over heels in love with every book I read.  However, I will have to say I do have some all-time favorites…

My first favorite book ever was the Ryan White- My Own Story.  I read this book in Middle School and feel in love with Ryan and his story.  I never lost my passion for talking about HIV/AIDS and was able to spend two amazing semesters in college working with people living with the disease, and still continue to educate people about it whenever I can.

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey (Yes, I know the controversy and I don’t care one bit!)  I also loved the follow up My Friend Leonard.  These are great reads no matter how you feel about Frey or his life.  I personally don’t mind if every thing he wrote wasn’t 100% true or accurate, he is a wonderful writer.

I’ve read and loved every single one of the Stephanie Plum novels (there are 20!!) by Janet Evanovich.  If you haven’t read anything by her – please put One For The Money (the first in the series) on your list.  These are great vacation/beach reads full of action, adventure, love, sex and super hot guys.

Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin was the first book that grabbed my attention and didn’t let go.  I could be seen reading at my desk, reading in the halls, reading over lunch, at the gym…everywhere until I finished it.  I was a woman obsessed with that story…also becoming the first book I ever read twice.  I was thrilled when the movie came out – and it’s become one of my favorites as well.

And though you’ve heard it before, my recent favorites include Fifty Shades of Grey, The Crossfire Series, Lost in Italy, Afterburn, and all the other books I’ve reviewed on this blog.

As you can see, if I could get paid to read I would so if you know anyone who’s hiring for that job – send them my way!  {wink}

Have a wonderful World Book Day!!

~Cheers~

So, what do you think?

